Agenda and minutes

Venue: Council Chamber - Civic Suite. View directions

Contact: Robert Harris - Committee Officer 


No. Item


Apologies for Absence

Additional documents:


Apologies for absence were received from Councillor K Murphy.


Declarations of Interest

Additional documents:


There were no declarations of interest at this meeting.


Motion on Notice

(i) Vote of no confidence and Removal of Leader


That this Council has no confidence in the current Leader and therefore resolves to remove the Leader.



(ii) Election of New Leader


That this Council elects a new Leader.

Additional documents:


The Worshipful the Mayor had agreed to call this Council meeting following a requisition by 7 Councillors, pursuant to Section 3 of Schedule 12 of the Local Government Act 1972, to consider the two matters referred to in the requisition and the associated motions.  The Worshipful the Mayor was satisfied that these matters were legitimate subjects for the Council to debate.


The Worshipful the Mayor informed the Council that Councillor George has formally submitted his letter of resignation to the Chief Executive as Leader of the Council and therefore it was not necessary to deal with element one relating to the no confidence motion and removal of the Leader.


Therefore, a new Leader of the Council needed to be elected, as provided for in the Constitution.


A named vote was taken for the appointment of Leader of the Council.


For Councillor Cox:


Cllr S Aylen, Cllr B Beggs, Cllr H Boyd, Cllr K Buck, Cllr S Buckley, Cllr C Campbell, Cllr O Cartey, Cllr J Courtenay, Cllr T Cox, Cllr M Davidson, Cllr A Dear, Cllr F Evans, Cllr N Folkard, Cllr D Garston, Cllr S Habermel, Cllr J Harland, Cllr D Jarvis, Cllr D Jones, Cllr J Lamb, Cllr J Moyies, Cllr D Nelson, Cllr M Stafford, Cllr C Walker, Cllr J Warren and Cllr R Woodley (25)


For Councillor Cowan:


Cllr M Berry, Cllr M Borton, Cllr L Burton, Cllr D Cowan, Cllr M Dent, Cllr S George, Cllr I Gilbert, Cllr L Hyde, Cllr A Jones, Cllr G Leroy, Cllr A Line, Cllr C Nevin, Cllr M O’Connor, Cllr D Richardson, Cllr K Robinson, Cllr M Sadza (16)


For Councillor Collins:


Cllr P Collins, Cllr R McMullan, Cllr C Mulroney, Cllr P Wexham (4)




Cllr T Cowdrey, Cllr R Longstaff, Cllr M Terry, Cllr S Wakefield, Cllr N Ward (5)




Cllr K Murphy (1)




That Councillor T Cox be appointed Leader of the Council.


Get the best from this site

We use simple text files called 'cookies'. Some of these cookies are essential to make our site work and others help us to improve by giving us some insight into how the site is being used. For more information, including how to turn cookies off, see more about cookies - or simply click the Continue button to use this site as normal.